The lost wizards of thailand ruesi lersi featured

The Lost Wizards of Thailand (คุณฤาษี คุณเป็นใคร)

A documentary film about the last Ruesi / Lersi of Southeast Asia

Ruesi (also known as Lersi, Pra Rasi or Rishi in India) is a type of jungle preacher or itinerant healer from Southeast Asia. The Ruesi have been wandering through the Southeast Asian wilderness for hundreds of years and still work their magic for those in need of their help.

Originally the term Ruesi (derived from the Indian „ṛṣi“, or “rishi”, which means “seer” but also “hermit”) was used to describe a fortune teller, shaman or medicine man who lives secluded in the wilderness and spends his time in deep meditation or in the production of medicine. The culture of the Ruesi, like that of Pahuyuth, goes back to a time before the spread of Theravada Buddhism.

According to tradition, many Pahuyuth Free-Warriors and Free-Warrior veterans also retreated to the jungle as Ruesi. There they were protected from political, social and religious persecution and made a living as itinerant healers, masseurs or spiritual healers. Such a Ruesi also plays an important role in the “Story of Gauw”. It is used as part of the Pahuyuth martial arts training to teach the teaching methodology.

It is said, that the Ruesi, among other things, had the ability to leave their bodies, to predict the future, to create magical tattoos (Sak Yant) and amulets, and to be able to talk to animals. However, these abilities are less to be attributed to medicine than to the fields of knowledge of Saiyasart or Yaan Meditation.

Trailer 1

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Trailer 2

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Due to their eremitary and modest lifestyle and modern social developments, the Ruesi are now almost forgotten. At present, the number of still active Ruesi in Thailand is estimated at around fifteen to one hundred.

The typical image that most Thais associate with the Ruesi comes mainly from historical dramas and TV shows. There they are usually portrayed as menacing forest wizards with uncanny powers. The Ruesi, depicted in old statues and paintings on the other hand, were once visited to heal the sick, protect people from evil, and predict the future. Over time, however, the Ruesi and their knowledge gradually disappeared from mainstream spiritualism.

Nowardays, however, these “wizards of the forest” are experiencing a kind of renaissance. After living in the shadows of the jungle for centuries and much like the contemporary Pahuyuth Free-Warriors, some Ruesis are now beginning to adapt their practices to the present day and make their knowledge available to the public via the Internet.

In this way, more and more non-Thais are now learning about the existence of these unique forest sages, which means, that there is a slight chance that the traditional teachings and the culture of the Ruesi can be preserved for future generations.

main film

A particularly noteworthy result of these developments is the documentary film The Lost Wizards of Thailand by Francis Wilmer, Harry Virtanen and Chonlada Lynn Bennett, which offers a unique insight into the life and mindset of today’s Ruesi.

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

We would like to thank the creators of this film for allowing us to present their work here in full (20 minutes) and hope to make a contribution to the protection and care of the traditional knowledge and the cultural heritage of the Ruesi.

More Saiyasart Knowledge

On our topic page you will learn more about Saiyasart (translated: Knowledge of Nothingness), a field of knowledge that deals with non-physical phenomena of all kinds.

Saiyasart banner 2020

More naturopathy knowledge

On our topic page you will learn more about traditional Free-Warrior Medicine, which is a predecessor of the traditional Thai medicine (TTM) and the traditional Thai massage (Nuad Thai).

Pahuyuth traditional alternative Asian free-capper curative banner new

Related Posts

Saiyasart the twilight state
Saiyasart the mountain of enlightenment
Saiyasart On the way to the end of being human
The lost wizards of thailand ruesi lersi featured
Saiyasart the girl by the wayside ALT
Saiyasart the rickshaw man

The lost wizards of thailand ruesi lersi featured

The Lost Wizards of Thailand (คุณฤาษี คุณเป็นใคร)

Ein Dokumentarfilm über die letzten Ruesi / Lersi Südostasiens

Als Ruesi (auch Lersi, Pra Rasi oder im indischen Rishi) bezeichnet man eine aus Südostasien stammende Art von Dschungelpredigern oder Wanderheilern. Die Ruesi wandern schon seit Hunderten von Jahren durch die südostasiatische Wildnis und wirken auch heute noch ihre Magie für jene, die ihrer Hilfe bedürfen.

Ursprünglich wurde mit dem Begriff Ruesi (abgeleitet vom indischen „ṛṣi“, oder „rishi“, also „Seher“ aber auch „Einsiedler“) ein Wahrsager, Schamane oder Medizinmann bezeichnet, der abgeschieden in der Wildnis lebt und seine Zeit in tiefer Meditation oder mit der Herstellung von Heilmitteln verbringt. Die Kultur der Ruesi geht, ebenso wie die des Pahuyuth, auf eine Zeit vor der Verbreitung des Theravada Buddhismus zurück.

Überlieferungen zufolge zogen sich auch viele Pahuyuth-Freikämpfer und Freikämpfer-Veteranen als Ruesi in den Dschungel zurück. Dort waren sie geschützt vor politischen, sozialen und religiösen Verfolgungen und bestritten ihren Lebensunterhalt als Wanderheiler, Masseure oder Geistheiler. Ein solcher Ruesi spielt auch in der „Geschichte von Gauw“ eine wichtige Rolle. Sie dient im Rahmen der Kampfkunstausbildung des Pahuyuth zur Vermittlung der Lehrmethodik.

Den Ruesi sagte man unter anderem nach, dass sie die Fähigkeit besäßen, ihren Körper zu verlassen, die Zukunft vorherzusagen, magische Tätowierungen (Sak Yant) und Amulette herstellen und mit Tieren zu sprechen zu können. Diese Fähigkeiten sind jedoch weniger der Heilkunde als dem Wissensgebiet des Saiyasart bzw. der Yaan Meditation zuzuordnen.

Trailer 1

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Trailer 2

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Durch ihren von Einfachheit und Bescheidenheit geprägten, eremitären Lebensstil und moderne gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen sind die Ruesi heutzutage beinahe in Vergessenheit geraten. Gegenwärtig schätzt man die Zahl der in Thailand noch aktiven Ruesi auf etwa fünfzehn bis einhundert.

Das achetypische Bild, welches die meisten Thai mit den Ruesi verbinden, stammt vor allem aus historischen Dramen und TV-Sendungen. Dort werden sie üblicherweise als bedrohliche Waldzauberer mit unheimlichen Kräften dargestellt. Die in alten Statuen und Gemälden dargestellten Ruesi wurden wiederum einst aufgesucht, um Kranke zu heilen, Menschen vor dem Bösen zu schützen und die Zukunft vorherzusagen. Im Laufe der Zeit verschwanden sie und ihr Wissen jedoch allmählich aus dem Mainstream-Spiritualismus.

Mittlerweile erleben diese „Zauberer des Waldes“ jedoch eine Art Renaissance. Nachdem sie über Jahrhunderte hinweg im Schatten des Dschungels gelebt haben, beginnen nun einige von ihnen damit – ähnlich wie die Freikämpfer des Pahuyuth – ihre Praktiken an die heutige Zeit anzupassen und ihr Wissen per Internet der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

Auf diese Weise erfahren mittlerweile auch immer mehr Nicht-Thais von der Existenz dieser einzigartigen Waldwaisen und es besteht eine Chance, dass die überlieferten Lehren und die Kultur der Ruesi für zukünftige Generationen erhalten bleibt.

Hauptfilm

Ein besonders erwähnenswertes Resultat dieser Entwicklungen ist der Dokumentarfilm The Lost Wizards of Thailand von Francis Wilmer, Harry Virtanen und Chonlada Lynn Bennett, der einen einzigartigen Einblick in das Leben und die Denkweise der heutigen Ruesi bietet.

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Wir danken den Machern dieses Filmwerkes, dass wir ihren Film hier in voller Länge  (20 Minuten) präsentieren dürfen und hoffen damit einen Beitrag zum Schutz und der Pflege von überliefertem Wissen und dem kulturellem Erbe der Ruesi zu leisten.

Mehr Saiyasart-Wissen

Auf unserer Themenseite erfährst Du mehr über das Saiyasart (wortwörtlich übersetzt: Wissen über das Nichts), einem Wissensgebiet, das sich sich mit nicht-körperlichen Phänomenen aller Art auseinandersetzt.

Saiyasart banner 2020

Mehr Heilkunde-Wissen

Auf unserer Themenseite erfährst Du mehr über über die traditionelle Freikämpfer-Heilkunde, dem Ursprung der traditionellen thailändischen Medizin (TTM) und der traditionellen Thai-Massage (Nuad Thai).

Pahuyuth traditionelle alternative asiatische freikaempfer heilkunde banner neu

Ähnliche Artikel

Saiyasart das maedchen am wegesrand ALT
Saiyasart wahrnehmungsworkshop 2015 featured
The lost wizards of thailand ruesi lersi featured
Saiyasart einfuehrung ins wahrheitswissen 1998 featured
Wan wai kru khru lehrer gedenktag Pahuyuth featured
Saiyasart auf dem weg zum ende des menschseins