What is a Phi Pret?

Phi Pret (ผีเปรต) are spirit beings from Asian folklore that were spread through Buddhism.

Background

Pret or Preta (Sanskrit: प्रेत, Standard Tibetan: ཡི་དྭགས་ yi dags) is the Sanskrit name for a type of supernatural being described in Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Chinese folk religion and Vietnamese folk religion as a being who suffers greater suffering than man, especially an extreme level of hunger and thirst. They have their origins in Indian religions and have been adopted by the spread of Buddhism into the East Asian religions. From the Chinese and Vietnamese adaptations, Preta is often translated into English as a “hungry spirit”.

Phi Pret is a suffering spirit also known as Asurakai – an inhabitant of the underworld. According to Thai belief, a person who has a deficit of good deeds is assigned to a certain level of hell after death until the debt is settled. A pret has so much karma on it that it can never be reborn in the human world, but is stranded in the underworld, leading to eternal suffering. It is tall, has long hair, a long neck, a protruding belly and a mouth as small as a needle, so he never gets enough to eat.

The Phi Pret is a bad-tempered and aggressive spirit that you can hear whistling at night and who is looking for someone who will end its sufferings. They are part of Buddhist mythology rather than specifically Thai, and the name is related to the Sanskrit word Preta (the same spirit in Hindu mythology). In China, this is the “hungry spirit”, and there is an annual festival in his honor.

Recommended Blog Posts

2013 Saiyasart introduction to the truth knowledge FEATURED

Saiyasart – Introduction to Truth Knowledge (2013)

On this page, we share a recording of the Saiyasart information session that took place in Berlin in 2013.

Was ist ein Phi Pret?

Phi Pret (ผีเปรต) sind Geistwesen aus der asiatischen Folklore, die durch den Buddhismus Verbreitung fanden.

Hintergrund

Pret oder Preta (Sanskrit: प्रेत, Standard Tibetan: ཡི་དྭགས་ yi dags) ist der aus dem Sanskrit stammende Name für eine Art von übernatürlichem Wesen, das im Hinduismus, Buddhismus, Taoismus, in der chinesischen Volksreligion und in der vietnamesischen Volksreligion als ein Wesen beschrieben wird, das größeres Leid als der Mensch erleidet, insbesondere ein extremes Maß an Hunger und Durst. Sie haben ihren Ursprung in indischen Religionen und wurden durch die Verbreitung des Buddhismus in die ostasiatischen Religionen übernommen. Aus den chinesischen und vietnamesischen Adaptionen wird Preta oft als „hungriger Geist“ ins Englische übersetzt.

Phi Pret ist ein leidender Geist, der auch als Asurakai bekannt ist – ein Bewohner der Unterwelt. Nach thailändischem Glauben wird eine Person, die ein Defizit an guten Taten hat, nach dem Tod einer bestimmten Ebene der Hölle zugewiesen, bis die Schuld beglichen ist. Ein Pret hat so viel Karma auf sich geladen, dass er niemals in der menschlichen Welt wiedergeboren werden kann, sondern in der Unterwelt gestrandet ist, was zu ewigem Leid führt. Er ist groß, hat langes Haar, einen langen Hals, einen vorspringenden Bauch und einen Mund, der so klein ist wie eine Nadel, so dass er nie genug zu essen bekommt.

Der Phi Pret ist ein schlecht gelaunter und aggressiver Geist, den man nachts pfeifen hört und der nach jemandem sucht, der sich um ihn verdient macht. Sie sind eher Teil der buddhistischen Mythologie als spezifisch thailändisch, und der Name ist mit dem Sanskrit-Wort Preta verwandt (derselbe Geist in der Hindu-Mythologie). In China ist dies der „hungrige Geist“, und es gibt ein jährliches Fest zu seinen Ehren.

Empfohlene Blogbeiträge

2013 Saiyasart einfuehrung in das wahrheitswissen FEATURED

Saiyasart – Einfuehrung in das Wahrheitswissen (2013)

Auf dieser Seite teilen wir eine Aufzeichnung der Informationsveranstaltung zum Saiyasart, die 2013 in der Kampfkunstschule Neukölln in Berlin stattfand.